Book Reviews

BOOK REVIEW: ZENN DIAGRAM BY WENDY BRANT

2017-05-12-11.38.59-1.jpg.jpeg

Title: Zenn Diagram

Author: Wendy Brant

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Sci-fi

Publisher: Kids Can Press

Publishing Date: April 4, 2017

SYNOPSIS: from Goodreads

Eva Walker has literally one friend—if you don’t count her quadruplet three-year-old-siblings—and it’s not even because she’s a math nerd. No, Eva is a loner out of necessity, because everyone and everything around her is an emotional minefield. All she has to do is touch someone, or their shirt, or their cell phone, and she can read all their secrets, their insecurities, their fears.

Sure, Eva’s “gift” comes in handy when she’s tutoring math and she can learn where people are struggling just by touching their calculators. For the most part, though, it’s safer to keep her hands to herself. Until she meets six-foot-three, cute-without-trying Zenn Bennett, who makes that nearly impossible.

Zenn’s jacket gives Eva such a dark and violent vision that you’d think not touching him would be easy. But sometimes you have to take a risk…

MY REVIEW

Many thanks to NetGalley, to the publisher and to the author, for providing a free digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

First of all, I just want to say that this book is officially on my top 5 favorite books of 2017! This is definitely one-of-a-kind.

I have so much feels reading this super awesome book! And Eva, oh my gosh, I can relate to her A LOT. I basically see myself in her, except for her unique ability. And look! I made a list of the reasons why I can relate to Eva Walker!

  • She loves Math.
  • She loves calculators.
  • She likes long eyelashes.
  • She wears eyeglasses.
  • How she looks is not a big deal for her.
  • She’s a Christian.
  • She’s not a fan of Nicholas Sparks.
  • She doesn’t like Starbucks.
  • She has a TALL best friend.

If you are at least one of the above, you should definitely read this book. No, I think everybody should read this book regardless of my list!

The author is amazing! This is such an admirable debut novel. The title is genius and it really suites the story. Descriptions are vivid, detailed but not too much, just enough to picture the scene. And the scenes are so natural and realistic.

This is probably the funniest book I’ve read so far. I laughed out loud at some pages because the jokes are so witty and funny! (watch out for the sheep joke!) I love the author’s sense of humor.

Zenn Bennett is my new book crush! Because why not? I also like Eva’s relationship with her mom and her best friend, especially at the last chapters. I think many of us can relate to them.

Oh, that mind-blowing fact between them! I was so shocked when I read it. I had to stop reading for like, 5 minutes to digest it. I didn’t expect it AT ALL.

The ending is good. It left me hanging for a moment because I didn’t expect for it to end too soon! And the epilogue isn’t enough for me. I want more! I mean, the story is really good. I just don’t want it to end.

This is a must-read. If you’re looking for a light read with lots of humor, this book is perfect for you!

And my rating? Of course it’s 5/5 stars!

8 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: ZENN DIAGRAM BY WENDY BRANT

  1. Lovely review and the book sounds great! I’ll definitely buy this book if I come across it. ‘She’s not a fan of Nicholas Sparks’. Haha! Neither am I.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment